Your body language shapes who you are…

I read about this in Shonda Rhimes’ book, “Year of Yes: How to Dance it Out, Stand in the Sun and be Your Own Person“.  I think it’s fascinating that we are not just limited to how others view us with our body language, but that it can mentally change us too!

 

Also, even if you don’t know who Shonda Rhimes is (what, do you live under a rock?), I highly recommend her book! It is surprising, but she spends an entire year saying yes instead of no. How often do we decline invitations? I know I do, especially as someone with social anxiety! I would do nearly anything to avoid going out in public!

I wonder how my life would change if I stopped saying no?

28 thoughts on “Your body language shapes who you are…

  1. OK, so weird, but today I practiced this. At our daily meeting of about 8-9 of us … I stood tall and either did the “super woman” hands on hip pose or stretched out one of my arm full length in my office doorway. So weird. It didn’t feel bad. I did watch as some others had crouching or shrinking postures … very interesting. Going to try it again at our next meeting. Our gatherings usually last 2-10 mins.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The boss of myself! And just recently I told my boss I no longer want to be charge when she is gone — been doing for 8 + yrs and I don’t think it’s worth the mental stress, unappreciation, etc. I have a phenomenal job BUT I am surrounded by a 3-person clique of which I’m not a part of. It’s a weird situation … that I’ve gone to therapy over with in the past. I’ve never worked for someone who seemed to sing your praises one moment and then turns on you … like bullying really. Anyway, I’ve looked for other jobs, but I like the one I have, so I buckle down, concentrating on excellent work & patient care with an almost perfect attendance rate … just close my door and put my nose to the grindstone. How I’d love to work in a consistently friendly work group like almost every other job I’ve ever had. There’s not really anyone above who can be supportive because there is a developed bias that I can’t undo. Anyway, TMI! 😉 Thanks for listening (reading).

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think we’ve talked about this before. I have the same issue at work, a clique of two. Unfortunately I go in and out of the clique (against my will). Sometimes I’m in but often I’m out. I totally get it! Have you emailed me yet? We have a lot to talk about!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Fishbowls! LOL!

        Today is just a weird day on the internet for me … I like reading the people’s blogs I follow. I like this more than FB (which I haven’t been on for years) and just so many other things. I never knew I would like blogging and reading blogs so much … OK … off topic again … there I go! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Hi you! What’s up?

        I watched the documentary about Scientology last night from mail order Netflix. Um, that’s some weird sh*t man! I knew Scientology was screwy, but I didn’t know how controlling, money grabbing and physically abusive. If you get a chance to watch it … go for it. It’s a bit long, but definitely a peep into a whole wacky world … it will take your mind off of anything in the moment because Ron L. Hubbard is a serious nutzaroni!

        It’s called “Going Clear: and the Prison of Belief”

        http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/going_clear_scientology_and_the_prison_of_belief_2015/

        Sooooo … work … not too bad today really. BUT this manager from another dept. called me today. Said she dug out my resume from when I interviewed 1.5 years ago and really liked me and now the position they have open is FULL TIME! Instead of 8-12 hours per weeks w/ no benefits.

        I put my resume and transfer in like a hot potato. I’m so hoping I get this job because it will be a new lease on life! Cross your fingers for me (not that I’m superstitious!)

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Fingers and toes crossed!! And I’ll definitely check out that link… Weird religions are really fun to learn about! I’m doing OK, at the bar with my cousin and her boyfriend! Kentucky bourbon barrel ale…! Got an email at work today about layoffs… Sigh.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

