Medicated and Mighty

I went to the doctor yesterday and thought I’d update you guys on med changes. I look forward to any feedback about your own experiences with meds.

I was on Prozac and Buspar for a year. I was taking 40 mg of Prozac in the morning, Xanax before bed to help me sleep, and 15 mg of Buspar twice a day for anxiety. It wasn’t really helping so my doctor switched me to 150mg of Effexor XR about a month ago.

I gained 17 lbs in the past month, however she said it isn’t from the Effexor; that 50% of people lose weight. She also is weaning me off of the Buspar and on Monday night I will be taking Tofranil once a day at bedtime.

She also thinks maybe I have ADHD, because I mentioned that over the past year I’ve had a lot of trouble concentrating and staying on task and it is getting progressively worse. She wants me to get tested for it.

So what do you guys think? Has anyone taken Effexor XR or Tofranil? What were your experiences with those?

 

2 thoughts on “Medicated and Mighty

  1. Update: side effects from only taking Buspar once a day instead of twice have been terrible. Really awful anxiety and a horrible headache. I ended up taking half a pill last night because I couldn’t hang. Woke up this morning with the headache still. This sucks!

    Like

  2. I have a feeling I have already cut & pasted my experience about EFFEXOR. I loved the drug personally as far as far as how it helped with my hot flashes and made me feel emotionally, but when I started having head and body jerks I had to say good bye to this medication. Here’s my LONG post about effexor: https://hysterectomy4dysmenorrhea.wordpress.com/2014/08/08/hot-flashes-effexor-dysguesia/

    I would love to take it again because I never felt so good but the weirdness was … well too weird to put up with. We all react differently to different meds … so best of luck to you with this med. Hugs, Etc. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

